A Twist of Water

Braving the cold with Scenic Designer Stephen H Carmody

Posted by A Twist of Water on January 8, 2011

Stephen H Carmody, Scenic Designer for A Twist of Water, adds his first post to the blog. Enjoy!
I love Chicago.

I hate the cold.

Chicago’s cold taunts and bites.  It frustrates and persists.  It surprises and is forever constant causing delays, fevers, headaches, wet socks, numb fingers, and reasons to never leave the cozy comforts of your bed.

But we do leave our beds.  And yes, it is uncomfortable and yes, no one smiles when waiting for the bus, but no, I don’t hate Chicago.

I don’t know why.  If you look at it logically, based on the information I gave at the top of the blog, I should hate Chicago 9 months out the year.  That is 75% of the time!  I had to figure that out with a calculator, which leads me to my next point.   I’m the scenic designer for A Twist of Water.  I look at things aesthetically and rarely do I convert fractions.  And as much as I think I should hate Chicago and its awful cold, my affection towards its weather condition is a major contradiction.   Chicago winter is beautiful and I’m able to deal and adapt to difficult situations out of a genuine love for the city.   (Allusion??? I think so.)

When researching for this show, I came across a picture that represented the text of the show and my feelings towards Chicago’s winter.  The picture is freezing, the lake is ice, the air is crisp, the trees are bare, and there is a twist in the water.  Literally, there is.  That was it.  I knew what I wanted to make the space and how I wanted the audience to feel.  Thank you google!

Scenic Design "Inspiration Photo"

I’m very excited about this show and more than happy to put on a double layer of clothes to face the cold and work on this project.

Stay warm, and I hope to see you at A Twist of Water and around Chicago!

-Stephen

2 Responses to “Braving the cold with Scenic Designer Stephen H Carmody”

  1. Ihsan said

    I’m kind of torn about this idea of predictability . If I’m renadig a modern mystery where a couple meets and is antagonistic, I am bored and skim through the romantic subplot quickly because it’s so obvious that they’re going to reconcile their differences before the end of the book. The standard They meet, they misunderstand each other, they quarrel, then they get together at the midpoint of Act 3 yawn. But in some older fiction that I grew up enjoying, like the mysteries of Patricia Wentworth and Ngaio Marsh, when there is a romantic subplot it’s pretty much smooth sailing from the beginning and I remember liking that. For instance, Marsh’s Overture to Death still stands out for me as an excellent mystery, even though the young lovers encounter pretty much zero in the way of realistic obstacles. I enjoyed watching them progress towards happily ever after . But perhaps that’s merely that mysteries from the 1930s and 1940s hadn’t learned to use the misunderstand/dislike/reconcile cliche and straight-line romance was all you could get. I’ve read of a recent study where it’s suggested that people who read spoilers actually enjoy the work more that is spoiled thereby. If I know that B is coming at the end of the book, I admit it’s interesting to watch how a writer gets from A to B. I’m not interested in the plotting, but the technique is occasionally worthwhile to observe. But I would much, much rather be led to believe that I’m getting A to B and end up with A to W, or J, or the square root of 149. THAT would keep me renadig. So, not necessarily uncertainty but subversion. I like to be led down the garden path and then have it end by falling over a cliff.

  2. gtgdvdjnas said

    FVPIs3 ambyuaybtsly

Leave a Reply

 
