A Twist of Water

Why here?

Posted by Erica Weiss on December 11, 2010

I was born and raised in Denver, Colorado. My family on both sides is from New York City. Chicago is my hometown.

Outside my comfy cozy northside apartment, the “Wintry Mix” has begun. The “Wintry Mix” is that awful combination of frozen rain with swirling snowflakes and the gross city-brown/black slush soaking the hems of your jeans and god I hate it I hate it so much.

The “Mix” might be worse than the crazy snowstorm, which, if the internet forecast is correct, will arrive tommorow, swirling stinging frozen flakes (each one of them magically unique, but who gives a shit because each precious flake is whipping at your face and it’s FREEZING) into a freezing, agressive fog that makes our beautiful town nearly invisible. Somehow, though, the “Wintry Mix” is worse.

I think it’s because, unlike with the Windy City blizzards, we’re kind of expected to put up with the slushy mess, to go on about our business, to buck up because at least it’s not snow. We can be forgiven for avoiding leaving our homes during a blizzard (except, of course, in February, when A Twist of Water is playing and you need to get to the theater… no excuses there, people) but trudging through the mix feels so…mandatory. But you know what? I’m not going out there. Not today, not tomorrow.

That’s enough complaining for this post. There are downsides to living here, and many of them are coming down in wet sheets from a grey sky as I type this. You take the bad with the good anywhere you go. I love it here.

I love the neighborhoods. I love the architecture. I love the food. (To live anywhere, I really need to love the food.) Mostly, I love the people. And lucky for me, I’m in the Theatre Capital of the World.

Everywhere I turn I see tremendous talent, and passion, and commitment to art. Chicago theatre artists are not in it for the money, for fame, for some kind of elite social status. Theatre in Chicago is down to earth. It’s real. It’s hard work and low pay and, despite that, low levels of martyrdom and pretense. It’s about community. It’s about Chicago – thinking about it, almost everything feels like in some way, it’s about Chicago. At the rate we’re exporting brilliant plays and artists, it’s about sharing Chicago with the world.

When Caitlin Montanye Parrish and I set out to create this play, we were both grappling with the idea that we might be leaving Chicago, at least for a while. I stayed here, she left (for totally valid Grad-School related reasons and we support her 100%, plus there is no Wintry Mix in Los Angeles). Before saying goodbye, we needed to tell Chicago how we felt. No matter where we’re living, no matter where we are, this is home. This is where we made our new families. This is where we became ourselves.

In A Twist of Water, Noah tells us that “Chicago is Chicago because of its water.” That’s true, it’s where we got our name. For me, though, Chicago is Chicago because of its people.

All this being said: Deep Dish pizza is disgusting. I’m sorry, but gross.

3 Responses to “Why here?”

  1. Egor said

    Terri Ring – These are just beautiful! I can’t wait to see the whole album. What a spcieal evening, and your photos will help us all remember it. Terri, Carrie’s Mom

  2. GDnr8g wuriykkkmtug

  3. ntungltxa said

    Is80iX ubymotsqmwoj

Leave a Reply

 
